Song or Sample?

A quick post, cause I’ve still got quite a few exams to make..

After reading Kon & Amir‘s article about the 50 greatest Hip-hop-samples of all time, I kept on listening to some of the samples. One of those samples is the one used for the T.R.O.Y. (The reminisce over you) track from Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth it’s a tribute to their fallen friend, Trouble T-Roy and most definitely their best track in my humble opinion.

The sampled track is from the great Saxophonist and musician Tom Scott, it’s called Today, and it’s an awesome song with an awesome solo in it. So here’s the thing, I can’t make up my mind, over which of the two tracks is the best, so I’ll let you guys decide, check out the two tracks here below, and let me know which one you dig the most. Enjoy!

The Sample: Tom Scott – Today

The Song:  Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth – The Reminisce over you  (T.R.O.Y.)

PS: Have some patience with the sample, it takes a while before the song reaches its climax.

About simon wardenier
24-year old Sociology student, studied Communication, Blogger, Photographer, Social MediaGeek & Hard Determinist. Love books, coffee & culture. No Regrets

5 Responses to Song or Sample?

  1. Amse says:

    They did a better job than the original!

  2. great post…i am with you on this one…i can’t decide either…keep up the good work…if you get chance check out my posts on DJ Shadow samples

  3. thanks, i’ll be sure to follow your blog as well and i’ll check out the post tomorrow!

  4. Jason says:

    I love this website, the information is great and I have bookmarked it in my favorites. This is a well organized and informative website. Great Job!

Leave a Reply

